SUNY Cobleskill Students Celebrated at First Annual Student Excellence Awards

Students and faculty alike gathered together at SUNY Cobleskill on Monday, March 31, 2014 to celebrate the First Annual Excellence in Student Leadership Awards. This ceremony provided a perfect opportunity for the campus community to convey its deep appreciation for a group of students who have continually demonstrated excellence in leadership inside and outside the classroom. Acting President Debra Thatcher and Vice President for Student Affairs, Steven Ackerknecht began the evening by delivering welcoming remarks. Following this was the induction of the awards selection committee by Vice President Ackernecht and the presentation of awards to given students by notable members of the SUNY Cobleskill faculty.

The evening was a joyous occasion, celebrating leadership excellence on a multitude of levels within the SUNY Cobleskill system. The evening’s first award, which was presented by Educational Opportunity Program Counselor Paul Dunn, was the Emerging Student Leadership Award. This award recognized first year students Oscar Aguero and Anthony R. Echevers who have assumed active and sustained leadership roles in campus organizations or initiatives that enrich student life and the campus community. The Excellence in Student Leadership Award, presented by the Director of the Student Life Center Jeff Foote, acknowledges students who demonstrate the positive attributes of student leadership and continually enrich the student life experience and campus community through sustained involvement in campus life through activities, clubs, organizations, service, athletics and/or program development. The recipients of this award were:

Elizabeth Archer                   Samantha LaRose

Earl Brady                              Pierce Randall

Randi D. Chancey                  Starmecca Richardson

Kristi Alexis Confortin            Eric Rotondo

Gavin S. Eysler                       Chelsey Savakinas

Brianne Gray                         Mackenah Simmons

Matthew Gregory                  Abigail J. Teeter

Michael J. Guadagno             Noel Valentin

Christina Ilowiecki                Katelyn Van Nort

Brandon Izzo                         Amanda Vescovi

Jasmine R. Jenkins                 Erin Wadsworth

Eric J. Kim                              Thomas R. Weis

Kia M. Lamica                       Jennifer Payano

Assistant Director of Residential Life, Mary Connor, presented the Distinguished Student Leadership Award.  This award, presented to Kristen Anderson and Kady Lynn Porterfield, recognizes students with distinguished service or achievement that significantly benefits the student body or the college as a whole.  These students were honored for exhibiting a pattern of exemplary service over their years at SUNY Cobleskill and exceeding the normal duties of any positions they may hold.

The final award of the evening, presented by President Thatcher, was the Student Leader of the Year, which went to Tracee M. Schiebel, who received the award for her achievements representing the highest level of student leadership. These include extraordinary contributions to the College, mentoring of future leaders, leading a wide range of campus activities and demonstrating exceptional service to others within and outside of the community.