Colleges announce commencement speakers

Inside Higher Ed

by Scott Jaschik

April 30, 2014

The following colleges and universities have announced their commencement speakers for spring 2014:

  • Adelphi University: [1] Jeh Charles Johnson, the secretary of homeland security.
  • Arizona State University: [2] U.S. Education Secretary Arne Duncan.
  • Dartmouth College: [3] Shonda Rhimes, the television writer and producer.
  • Dominican University, [4] in Illinois: Julieanna L. Richardson, founder and executive director of the History Makers.
  • Goucher College: [5] Susan Eisenhower, the international affairs consultant.
  • Hudson County Community College: [6] Rod A. Risley, executive director and chief executive officer of Phi Theta Kappa.
  • Indiana Wesleyan University: John Isch, a cardiac surgeon and Christian leader in the Indianapolis area.
  • LaGrange College: Author and environmentalist Janisse Ray.
  • Marlboro College: [7] Andrew Delbanco, the Mendelson Family Chair of American Studies and Julian Clarence Levi Professor in the Humanities at Columbia University.
  • Marymount University, [8] in Virginia: Kevin A. Plank, CEO of Under Armor.
  • Miami Dade College: [9] J.B. Milliken, incoming chancellor of the City University of New York; Vice President Biden; John Sexton, president of New York University; Darren Walker, president of the Ford Foundation; and Richard Brodhead, president of Duke University.
  • Michigan Technological [10] University: [10] Leland D. Melvin, former astronaut and associate administrator for education at National Aeronautics and Space Administration.
  • Mount Aloysius College: [11] David Shribman, executive editor of The Pittsburgh-Post Gazette; and Cindy Skrzycki, a columnist and a senior lecturer at the University of Pittsburgh.
  • Nova Southeastern University: [12] Will A. Gunn, general counsel for the Department of Veterans Affairs; and Chesley B. Sullenberger, III, the pilot who led an emergency landing in the Hudson River in 2009.
  • State University of New York at Cobleskill: [13] Judith St. Leger, director of veterinary pathology and research at SeaWorld Parks and Entertainment.