SUNY Cobleskill Diesel Technology Programs Re-Accredited by AED

The AED Foundation congratulates the State University of New York (SUNY) Cobleskill for being granted AED Re-Accreditation both the Diesel Technology and John Deere Construction & Forestry Equipment Programs!

To graduate from these A.A.S. college degree programs, students must demonstrate a depth of knowledge and a proficiency of skill in repair and maintenance of equipment while working within the following topics outlined by AED technical standards: safety concerns and administrative structure of the workplace, electronic/electrical systems, hydraulic/hydrostatic systems, power trains, diesel engines, and air conditioning/heating.

AEDStudents learn to work effectively at an equipment dealership by knowing the functions and procedures of the service, sales and parts departments. This includes adapting to the needs of employers who need people that can think critically, manage their time effectively, communicate confidently, problem solve using logic and/or mathematical reasoning, and appreciate the diversity of their surroundings including customers, co-workers, and the environment.

Doug Hammond, Department Chair, commented, “The department is extremely pleased with and grateful for the level of support from our industry partners.  We recognize that it would not be possible to offer the educational product we are able to provide without the continued support from AED member dealers associated with the program.” 

Representing these industry partners on the programs’ Advisory Board are: Chris Geel, Service Manager, Milton Cat; Larry Plude, Service Manager, Nortrax; John Manzi, District Service Manager, Bobcat Company; Bob Strangfeld, Service Manager, Five Star Equipment; Trevor Leroy, Field Technician (former Cobleskill Student), Capitol Tractor; Dustin Gibson, Co-owner, Capitol Tractor; Josh Clark, Branch Manager, Monroe Tractor; and Ron Barton, Corporate Recruiting & Development Manager, Milton Cat.

Congratulations to Doug Hammond and his faculty team: Matt Hibbard, Mike McCaskey, Zach Metzler, Bob Rynk, Ray Roes, Nick Testa, Larry VanDeusen, and Bruce Wright. 


The AED Foundation is proud to be affiliated with these fine programs.