Campus Celebrates Student Leaders at the 2nd Annual Excellence in Student Leadership Awards

SUNY Cobleskill students and faculty gathered together on Monday, March 30, 2015 to celebrate the Second Annual Excellence in Student Leadership Awards dinner. An evening dedicated to students who continually demonstrate excellence in leadership, the College is proud to show its appreciation with five distinct awards highlighting their exceptional achievements.

“The Excellence in Student Leadership Awards is all about putting students first. These students exemplify the meaning of leadership, engagement and success. They have made a difference in all that they do and it is a privilege to award these shining stars with this special recognition,” said Steve M. Ackerknecht, Vice President for Student Affairs at SUNY Cobleskill.

The Emerging Student Leadership Award is presented to first year students who are actively engaged in campus organizations. These individuals set themselves apart from others by demonstrating the qualities of a great leader. The Excellence in Student Leadership Award celebrates students who enrich the student life experience at SUNY Cobleskill through continued involvement in campus life, including college activities, clubs, organizations, community service, athletics and program development. The Distinguished Excellence in Leadership Award recognizes students who significantly benefit the campus community with their exemplary service and guidance throughout their undergraduate careers. The Student Leader of the Year, an award presented by Acting President Debra H. Thatcher, is an acknowledgement of the highest level of student leadership. This award is given to a student who has made extraordinary contributions to the College, including mentoring future leaders, leading a wide range of campus activities and showcasing exceptional service to others.

Individual plaques of the award winners will be featured in Bouck Hall from April 1, 2015 to March 31, 2016.

2nd Annual Excellence in Student Leadership Awards – Award Recipients

Emerging Student Leadership Award

Carolyn Deneault

Ethan Gardner

Excellence in Student Leadership Award

Nicole Avery

Tyler Barriere

Elizabeth Bracken

Olivia Drutjons

Anthony Echevers

Kate Ewer

Michael Fitzgerald

Alisha Fregoe

Lillian Fuller

Lavaughn Garland

Chelsea Gendreau

Brianne Gray

Matthew Gregory

Sabrinna Hansen

Rebecca Hotaling

Jaimee Lord

Abigail Luzier

Tegan Matthews

Shelby Preston

Dakota Raab

Amanda Rhodes

Clara Richardson

Sayvanna SFabian

Mackenah Simmons

Alexandra Steelman

Sarah Teed

Abigail Teeter

Emma Tiner

Megan Trigg

Erin Wadsworth

Distinguished Excellence in Leadership Award

Zechariah Kehoe

Pierce Randall

Student Leader of the Year

Kristi Confortin