Athletic Hall of Fame 2016 Inductions

The SUNY Cobleskill Department of Sport & Exercise is inducting four new members into the College’s Athletic Hall of Fame for 2016 during this year’s Homecoming Weekend. Each year, the Hall of Fame honors Fighting Tigers from across the decades who have distinguished themselves as standout athletes. This year’s inductees are Arthur McNamara ’50, Fred Guay ’59, Carl Tillipaugh ’69, and Leslie Martin ’05.

Arthur McNamara was a rising star when he came to SUNY Cobleskill in 1948 from Saint Augustine High School in Brooklyn after a short stint at Saint John’s University in Queens on a basketball scholarship. At Cobleskill, he quickly led the basketball team in scoring and carried it to two New York State Technical College Championship Tournament bids. When he graduated, he was the men’s basketball all-time leading scorer with 635 career points.

Fred Guay came to Cobleskill in 1957 after serving in the United States Army and played basketball under Hall-of-Fame Coach Albert “Nick” Iorio. He was the team’s leading scorer while he attended, earning All-NJCAA Regional and NJCAA All-American honors. After graduation, he took a position with the College and served faithfully for 33 years before retiring.

Carl Tillipaugh distinguished himself early in men’s track and field at Cobleskill High School before coming to SUNY Cobleskill to compete under Hall-of-Fame Coach Maynard Clark. In his time here, he earned NJCAA All-Regional honors and qualified for the NJCAA Outdoor Track & Field National Championships. He held the men’s record for outdoor high jump, at 6 feet, 8 inches, when he graduated in 1969.

Leslie Martin, a Hudson Falls native, distinguished herself in both basketball and track and field for the Fighting Tigers. In basketball, she was named Most Valuable Player in 2004 and earned All-Mountain Valley Conference the same year. On the track, she was a two-time women’s team Most Valuable Performer, four-time NJCAA Outdoor Track & Field All-American and threetime NJCAA Outdoor Track & Field National Champion, winning two national titles in the high jump and the heptathlon.

The Hall of Fame Awards Dinner will be held Friday, September 23 in Bouck Ballroom, with cocktail hour opening at 5:30pm.