26 Students Recognized for Excellence in Student Leadership

The 4th Annual Excellence in Student Leadership Awards ceremony on April 6 honored 26 SUNY Cobleskill students for their outstanding leadership and contributions to campus life.

This year’s new Agent of Change Award went to senior Briana Dominick. The award recognizes a student who has shown dedication in promoting and facilitating the positive efforts of diversity and inclusion at SUNY Cobleskill.

Full list of winners:

Emerging Student Leadership Award

This award recognizes first-year students who assume active and sustained leadership roles in campus organizations or initiatives that enrich student life and the campus community. These students set themselves apart from other first-year student leaders and aspire to be successful in all they do.

Jordan E. Garrett
Mariah C. Meachem


Excellence in Student Leadership Award

This award recognizes students who demonstrate the positive attributes of student leadership, they meaningfully contribute to the enrichment of student life and the campus community, and maintain sustained involvement in campus life through activities, clubs, organizations, service, athletics, and/or program development.

Matt Aniolowski
Gabriella Barilli
Tyler Beauchamp
Kaylee Brant
Gabrielle Clark
Kaitlyn Clute
Alexandra Colella
Kaitlyn Daigle
Michelle L. DeMartino
Briana Dominick
Kassi Hetherly
Molly Karlin
BrookAnne LaLonde
Jaimee N. Lord
Tegan Matthews
Anne Mairead Oswald
Shelby Preston
Casey J. Timmins
Alex Anthony Walczyk
Kasey T. Williams
Jocelyn Zaneski


Distinguished Student Leadership Award

This award recognizes students with distinguished service or achievement that significantly benefits the student body or the college as a whole. These students exhibit a pattern of exemplary service over their years at SUNY Cobleskill and exceed the normal duties of any positions they may hold. Award categories include Cultural Competence, Community Engagement and Service, Health, Safety and Wellness, Athletics, Peer Education, Programming, Student Governance and Student Organization involvement.

Karis E. Ahrens
Sarah Peavey


Student Leader of the Year Award

This award recognizes the student who represents the highest level of student leadership. This student makes extraordinary contributions to the College, mentors future leaders, leads a range of campus activities, and demonstrates exceptional service to others and within the community. The breadth and depth of the student’s actions have significant College-wide impact.

Jim Peterson


Agent of Change Award 

The Agent of Change Award recognizes a student who has shown dedication in promoting and facilitating the positive efforts of diversity and inclusion at SUNY Cobleskill. The award recipient demonstrates a passion for improving the community toward a better understanding of how we are all connected while also appreciating and valuing differences.

Briana Dominick



More News

The Leubner sisters (including a #CobyAlum) are using social media to connect with and educate a younger generation of could-be farmers.

Through a grant received by @crcsdistrict, middle school students took part in a week-long “Agricultural Mechanics and Equipment” course, learning the basics of operating and repairing heavy farm equipment under the instruction of our Ag Engineering dept.
https://t.co/v4sb6WEPk8 https://t.co/w1O2mrNlfa
SUNYCobleskill photo
The agreement will give students in our Histotechnician Associate’s program the opportunity to complete their clinical training at one of the world's leading cancer research centers - @MSKCancerCenter. #CobyTechnology

Full article: https://t.co/Amb27Rt6Pe https://t.co/rdBTg8FCFD
SUNYCobleskill photo
Nothing breaks the ice like beautiful sunshine for our first #orientation of the summer. #SUNY https://t.co/pu5dR7zbt1 SUNYCobleskill photo
Congratulations to our competitors, Michael Fasanella and Nicholas Kimball, for an excellent showing at this year's National Collegiate Landscape Competition! #CobyAgriculture

Skip to content